The art of wandering

“cover gently as you would cover a sleeping child”

It was one of those days when the act of painting seems a nuisance hissing from the back of my ear “you can not do it”. Sliding from the darkness outside to the dome light inside, I thought it was not too cold and not too bad of a feeling after all to sit in front of the painted canvas. In a move of rebellion I put on music of Bharata Natyam dance of Southern India. My son is becoming six; I can allow myself to be lost again in the space that music makes and then tune up the painting until its sounds prick my skin. Fear and despair made way for gentleness while covering all parts that were out of tune. I left it there to settle but kept the rounded space within until the duties flattened it again. A space to wander; now I was reminded where to look for it.

the studio at Kempstraat (demolished)
the studio at Kempstraat (demolished in 2009)
Leave a Reply

