mobilization

I learned to drive a car for the case that I would need to flee.  A wise thought for that time, which I dropped later as driving proved to be more dangerous than what I needed to save myself from. Then the car was burnt by angry people and I did not have to think about driving anymore. The mobilization of the people of the Arabic nations imposed a certain silence, out of respect. Words in the languages that I know became irrelevant; there was no time to learn the right sounds. So I put myself in mute and counted the days of their revolution with threads. The counting still goes on, heavier I fear.

a car in Egypt January 2011, embroidery on linnen
fire in Tunesia January 2011, embroidery on linnen
road in Tunesia January 2011, embroidery on linnen
gas to the people of Egypt January 2011, embroidery on linnen
2 thoughts on “mobilization

Leave a Reply

